It’s Team Pascal & Palmer at ROC 2015!

It’s Team Pascal & Palmer at ROC 2015!

  • Two of racing’s brightest young stars will compete in the Race Of Champions at London’s former Olympic Stadium on November 20-21
  • Our very own Pascal Wehrlein and Englishman Jolyon Palmer will be in action – and they’ll join forces for Team Young Stars in the ROC Nations Cup
  • Pascal, the official reserve driver for MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS, was crowned champion of Germany’s DTM touring car series this year
  • 2014 GP2 Champion Palmer is Britain’s latest Formula 1 star, having sealed a deal to race for Lotus F1 Team next year
  • They will join a field featuring fellow F1 stars Jenson Button, Sebastian Vettel, Daniel Ricciardo, Romain Grosjean, Nico Hülkenberg and Felipe Massa
  • Tickets are still available from for this festival of non-stop action and entertainment in London next week

This month’s Race Of Champions, taking place at London’s former Olympic Stadium on November 20-21, will feature two of motor racing’s brightest young prospects as Pascal Wehrlein and Jolyon Palmer have signed up to compete.

Pascal and Palmer both made their Race Of Champions debuts in Barbados last year – indeed they also joined forces for Team Young Stars in the ROC Nations Cup. Now that partnership will be rekindled in London next week.

Pascal is a hot property in motor racing, proving his credentials as he was the youngest driver ever to be crowned champion of the DTM, Germany's premier touring car series, in 2015 – still a day before his 21st birthday.

The triumphant year followed a similar dream end to Pascal's 2014, when he was named MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS official reserve driver. He went on to reach the Race Of Champions Grand Final in Barbados at his very first attempt (pictured) before losing out to David Coulthard.

Pascal said: “I’m really looking forward to coming back for my second Race Of Champions. I enjoyed it so much last year in Barbados and I nearly made it all the way. Now I’ll try to win it this year after my fantastic season winning the DTM title.”

Palmer will be the third British driver on the Formula 1 grid in 2016, having sealed a deal to race for Lotus F1 Team after a year as Third and Reserve Driver. Last year he dominated the 2014 GP2 Series, taking four wins and eight further podiums to see off a competitive field. Now he has another chance to take on many of the sport’s leading stars in London.

Palmer said: “I'm delighted to be back at the Race Of Champions this year. It was such a great event last year but as a Brit, being in London makes it even more special for me. It's always a fun event, with some good competition of course and I really hope the fans enjoy it... I'm sure they will!”

Pascal and Palmer join a stunning field of driving talent competing at this year’s Race Of Champions – including fellow F1 stars Jenson Button, Sebastian Vettel, Daniel Ricciardo, Romain Grosjean, Nico Hülkenberg and Felipe Massa, nine-time Le Mans 24 Hours winner Tom Kristensen, reigning World Rallycross Champion Petter Solberg, reigning Formula E Champion Nelson Piquet Jr, Williams Martini Racing’s Official Test Driver Susie Wolff, Blancpain Endurance Series Champion Alex Buncombe, British Touring Car great Jason Plato, 2014 Indianapolis 500 winner Ryan Hunter-Reay, ROC Champion of Champions David Coulthard plus MotoGP world champions Mick Doohan and Jorge Lorenzo.

The Race Of Champions is an annual end-of-season contest which has been running for over 25 years. It brings together some of the world’s greatest drivers from motor sport’s major disciplines – including F1, Le Mans, Rallycross, Touring Cars, IndyCar and MotoGP – and sets them free to battle head-to-head in identical machinery.

The event is run over two days: first comes the ROC Nations Cup (on the evening of Friday November 20) when drivers pair up in teams based on nationality to bid for the title of ‘World’s Fastest Nation’. Then on the afternoon of Saturday November 21 it’s time for the Race Of Champions itself, when teamwork goes out of the window and it’s a flat-out battle for individual glory as ‘Champion of Champions’.

In recent years ROC has visited the Stade de France in Paris (2004-2006), London’s Wembley Stadium (2007-2008), the ‘Bird’s Nest’ Olympic Stadium in Beijing (2009), Düsseldorf’s Esprit Arena (2010-2011), the Rajamangala Stadium in Bangkok (2012) and Bushy Park Barbados (2014). Now the contest is returning to its European roots at the iconic home of the 2012 London Olympic and Paralympic Games.

Drivers confirmed for the 2015 Race Of Champions:

  • Sebastian VETTEL, four-time Formula 1 World Champion
  • Nico HÜLKENBERG, 2015 Le Mans 24 Hours winner
  • Tom KRISTENSEN, nine-time Le Mans 24 Hours winner
  • Petter SOLBERG, reigning FIA World Rallycross Champion
  • Daniel RICCIARDO, three-time Formula 1 grand prix winner
  • Mick DOOHAN, five-time 500cc MotoGP World Champion
  • Felipe MASSA, 11-time Formula 1 grand prix winner
  • Nelson PIQUET Jr, reigning FIA Formula E Champion
  • David COULTHARD, reigning ROC Champion of Champions
  • Susie WOLFF, Williams Martini Racing Official Test Driver
  • Jorge LORENZO, double MotoGP World Champion
  • Romain GROSJEAN, 2012 ROC Champion of Champions
  • Ryan HUNTER-REAY, 2014 Indianapolis 500 Winner
  • Jason PLATO, double British Touring Car Champion
  • Alex BUNCOMBE, 2015 Blancpain Endurance Series Champion
  • Jenson BUTTON, 2009 Formula 1 World Champion
  • Pascal WEHRLEIN, 2015 DTM Champion
  • Jolyon PALMER, 2014 GP2 Champion

Drivers confirmed for ROC Celebrity Skills Challenge:

  • Chris HOY, six-time Olympic gold medallist in cycling
  • Ben AINSLIE, four-time Olympic gold medallist in sailing
  • Mike TINDALL, 2003 Rugby World Cup winner for England
  • Ella EYRE, MOBO award-winning singer-songwriter
  • Joey ESSEX, British television personality
  • Jon-Allan BUTTERWORTH, multiple medal-winning Paralympic cyclist

  • 2015 China Sunday Lewis Hamilton Nico Rosberg

    2015 China Sunday Lewis Hamilton Nico Rosberg

Sorry, es scheint so, als sei die Version deines Browser zu alt!

Bitte aktualisiere deinen Browser oder lade eine aktuelle Version der unten aufgelisteten Browser herunter.

Internet Explorer Internet Explorer Firefox Mozilla Firefox Opera Opera Browserr Chrome Google Chrome