March 20, 2016

    5 p.m. (local time)

    Location Albert Park
    Circuit Length 5303 km km
    Laps 58
    Race Distance 307.574 km
    Lap Record 1:24.125 - M Schumacher (2004)


The Australian Grand Prix is the oldest surviving motor racing competition held in Australia, having been run 77 times since the inaugural event at Phillip Island in 1928. It has been a fixture of the Formula One calendar since 1985, but was also staged at a variety of circuits across Australia prior to its inclusion in the World Championship calendar.

Excluding 2006 and 2010, when Bahrain hosted the event, the Australian Grand Prix has formed the opening race of the World Championship since moving to Melbourne from Adelaide in 1996. During its years at the Adelaide Street Circuit it formed the final round of the season, providing the stage for the decisive race in both the 1986 and 1994 Drivers' World Championship battles.

In 1992, however, Jeff Kennett was elected the new premier of the State of Victoria and immediately set about improving Melbourne's profile. First on his list was the Australian Grand Prix and in late 1993 it was announced that the race would be relocated to a street circuit in Albert Park. The current track was duly developed using closed-off public roads and in 1996 hosted its first Formula One World Championship race.

Mercedes-Benz at the Australian Grand Prix

Silver Arrows Mercedes-Benz Power
Wins 2 9
Podiums 3 23
Pole Positions 2 8
Front Row Starts 3 16
Fastest Laps 2 8
Starts 6 25

Sorry, es scheint so, als sei die Version deines Browser zu alt!

Bitte aktualisiere deinen Browser oder lade eine aktuelle Version der unten aufgelisteten Browser herunter.

Internet Explorer Mozilla Firefox Opera Browserr Google Chrome