2017 Formula 1 Petrona Malaysia Grand Prix

October 01, 2017 5 p.m. (local time)
Location Kuala Lumpur
Circuit Length 5.543 km km
Laps 56
Race Distance 306.051 km
Lap Record 1:34.223 MON (2004)

Mercedes-Benz in Malaysia

There is no circuit in the world that is as symmetrical as this one when viewed from above, but nevertheless, the track still has a large variety of turns. The Sepang International Circuit has a fresh challenge in store at practically every twist and turn.

In spite of the two long straights, teams set their cars up with a lot of downforce, which seems to make even more sense in view of the fact that rain that can fall at any time. Tropical Malaysia with its hot, humid air has got to be the worst possible place for competitive sport.

The track itself is medium fast and designed to flow. The long straights before and after the grandstand call for high engine performance. In addition, the circuit, which is not far from Kuala Lumpur's airport, has a mix of tight bend combinations at the beginning of the lap and quick changes of direction at the end.

Maximum speeds of up to 320 km/h can be achieved at the circuit that consists of 15 turns and eight straights. The Formula 1 track designed by Aachen-based architect Hermann Tilke is also one of the widest, having a width of as much as 22 metres in places.

Silver Arrows Mercedes-Benz Power
Wins 1 4
Podiums 7 17
Pole Positions 3 5
First Row Starts 5 11
Fastest Laps 3 9

Circuit Characteristics

Circuit Length 5.543 km
Race Laps 56
Race Distance 310.408 km
Number of Corners 15 (5 L/10 R)
Distance from Pole to Turn One Apex 650 m
Pit Lane Length Under Speed Limit Control 425 m
Pit Lane Time at 80 km/h 23.5 s
Braking Events 7 (4 Heavy)
Brake Energy High
Tyre Compounds H/M
DRS Zones T 15-1/T 14-15
Key Overtaking Opportunities T 1/15
Track Evolution (P1-Qualifying) High

Sorry, es scheint so, als sei die Version deines Browser zu alt!

Bitte aktualisiere deinen Browser oder lade eine aktuelle Version der unten aufgelisteten Browser herunter.

Internet Explorer Internet Explorer Firefox Mozilla Firefox Opera Opera Browserr Chrome Google Chrome