Michael and Nico to ride smart ebikes in the paddock

Michael and Nico to ride smart ebikes in the paddock

From now on, Michael and Nico will also be zipping around in the paddock on cutting-edge two-wheelers. The MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS Formula One Team drivers are the world's first owners of the new smart ebike, which will be launched on the market in April 2012. They both received their futuristic ebikes at today’s last test in Barcelona before the start of the season.

Handing over the ebikes at the Circuit de Catalunya, smart boss Dr. Annette Winkler said: "Just like a Formula One race car, the smart ebike is perfectly tailored to the needs of its rider. The whole smart team is really pleased and proud that Michael Schumacher and Nico Rosberg will now be using their smart ebikes to get around the paddock and beyond."

Accepting the ebike Michael said: "Just like KERS on our race cars, the electric motor on the ebike provides extra thrust. This means that we are also among the front-runners in the drivers' paddock."

Nico added: "Formula One means enjoying high tech – and that's certainly the case with the smart ebike. The smart ebike is the coolest form of cycling."

With an unconventional design in line with the style of the brand, functions appropriate for city use and high technology standards that are demonstrated by the extremely efficient and high-performance drive package and high-quality components, the smart ebike has an exceptional position and guarantees dynamic, safe and fun cycling.

As a pedelec (Pedal Electric Cycle) the smart ebike is strictly speaking a hybrid vehicle: the electric motor switches on as soon as the rider starts pedalling. Muscle power is transmitted to the rear wheel via a lubricant-free, durable and quiet belt drive in place of a conventional bicycle chain.

Further information from smart is available at

Sorry, es scheint so, als sei die Version deines Browser zu alt!

Bitte aktualisiere deinen Browser oder lade eine aktuelle Version der unten aufgelisteten Browser herunter.

Internet Explorer Internet Explorer Firefox Mozilla Firefox Opera Opera Browserr Chrome Google Chrome