• 2020 Bahrain GP
  • Circuit Characteristics

    Circuit Length 5.412 km
    Race Laps 57
    Race Distance 308.484 km
    Lap Record 1:31.447
    Record Holder DLR (2005)
    Number of Corners 15 (6 Left / 9 Right)
    Distance from Pole to First Braking Zone 346.1 m
    Pit Lane Length Under Speed Limit Control 420.1 m
    Pit Lane Time at 80 km/h 18.9 s
    Highest Lateral G 4.0 (T7)
    % of Lap / Lap Distance at Full Throttle 64% / 75%
    Braking Events 7 (4 Heavy)
    Brake Energy Medium
    Fuel Consumption High
    Tyre Compounds 2020 Soft, Medium, Hard
    Track Evolution (P1 - Qualifying) Medium
    DRS Zone T 3-4 / T10-11 / T15-1
    Key Overtaking Opportunities T1 / T4 / T11

    2020 Information - Timetable

    Session Local Time Brackley Stuttgart
    Practice 1 - Friday 14:00 11:00 12:00
    Practice 2 - Friday 18:00 15:00 16:00
    Practice 3 - Saturday 15:00 12:00 13:00
    Qualifying - Saturday 18:00 15:00 16:00
    Race - Sunday 18:10 15:10 16:10
  • The 2004 Bahrain Grand Prix marked the first ever round of the FIA Formula One World Championship to be held in the Middle East. Located in Sakhir, 30 kilometres south-west of the island's capital, Manama, the Bahrain International Circuit was designed by Hermann Tilke and contains five track layouts within one complex.


    Construction began in November 2002, with over 12,000 tonnes of stone used in the build: a third of it being Welsh granite, chosen for the track surface due to its excellent adhesive qualities. The 5.412-kilometre Grand Prix circuit layout provides a unique driving experience, because the track width varies at the end of the different straights, which promotes a diverse range of racing lines.

    A revised 'endurance' track layout was used for the 2010 event, with an additional complex starting at Turn Four extending the lap to 23 corners and 6.299 kilometres. However, the original layout has been preferred in each of the nine remaining races held at the venue. 2010 also represented one of two years in which Bahrain has hosted the opening Grand Prix of the season, the other being 2006.

    Since 2014, Bahrain has hosted a twilight race, with the start taking place at sunset and ending under dark skies and floodlights.

      Mercedes F1 Mercedes-Benz Power
    Wins 4 5
    Podiums 12 18
    Pole Positions 5 5
    Front Row Starts 8 10
    Fastest Laps 4 6
    Starts 9 15

Race Results