• The races of 2015

The 2015 Formula One season was the second in the new era of Hybrid Power Units. As in the previous year, the contest for the title soon developed into a thrilling battle between the two Silver Arrows drivers. Lewis and Nico won 16 of the 19 races on the calendar, continuing the Silver Arrows’ domination of the year before.

Reigning champion Lewis started off with a victory in the Australian Grand Prix with Nico finishing second to make it the first one-two result for the Silver Arrows of the new campaign. As the season progressed, eleven further one-twos were to follow.

The second of these came on the third race weekend in China. After Sebastian Vettel had lifted the winner’s trophy in Malaysia, Lewis and Nico returned to winning ways in Shanghai, finishing first and second respectively. This was followed by a victory for Lewis in Bahrain and Nico’s first two wins of the seasons in Barcelona and Monaco – the German’s third successive victory in the Principality.

The next three races – Canada, Austria and Great Britain – were then a ding-dong battle between Lewis and Nico, with each of them taking it in turns to claim the top spot on the podium. After a disappointing result in Hungary, Lewis embarked on a six-race winning streak that sealed his third world championship title, starting with the Belgian Grand Prix and concluding in the USA. In fact, his championship lead was so great that he wrapped up the title in the fourth-to-last race in Austin.

Undeterred, Nico struck back with victories on the last three grand prix weekends of the season in Mexico, Brazil and Abu Dhabi. Meanwhile, the team secured the Constructors’ Championship for the second time in a row with a formidable points total of 703.

Lewis added another chapter to his success story by winning his third F1 world championship title and joined an elite group of Formula One legends, equalling the record of his childhood hero Ayrton Senna – and of a certain Niki Lauda. He has regular face-to-face contact with Niki, of course, in the latter’s capacity as Chairman of the Supervisory Board to the Silver Arrows team.

With his tenth win of the season in Austin, Lewis set yet another record, becoming the first driver in the history of Formula One to register more than ten Grand Prix victories in two consecutive seasons. Only three drivers have so far taken their win tally into double digits in a single season: Michael Schumacher (2002, 2004), Sebastian Vettel (2011, 2013) and Lewis (2014, 2015).