• Lewis Kicks Off In-Season Testing in Bahrain

Lewis completes 77 laps on a wet first day of testing at the Bahrain International Circuit
Following the Bahrain Grand Prix, Formula One teams have remained in Bahrain for this year’s first in-season test. Lewis Hamilton was behind the wheel of the Mercedes-AMG F1 W10 EQ Power+, completing 77 laps on the opening day.

- The team worked on a number of test items today, looking at the cooling of the car and collecting aero data

- Rainfall interrupted the session, cutting today’s programme short

- Mercedes-Benz Power Units completed a total of 844 km today

Lewis Hamilton

"We were driving on the same track we drove all weekend, but due to the conditions we faced completely different obstacles today. Both the temperatures and the wind were different to what we experienced last week, which is why this is actually quite a cool track to drive as it brought some variation."

Andrew Shovlin

"The rain was a bit of a surprise! It wasn’t forecast but ended up costing us four or five hours of our programme. We selected the tyres for this test back in December and not expecting rain, we chose only dry tyres. So, once the track was properly wet we didn’t have any option but to wait for it to dry again. However, it’s not been a wasted day, we got through a few aero items in the morning and have managed to collect useful data on some development items. We’re going to reorganise our plans a bit for tomorrow, we’re not going to manage to get everything done that we hoped but with decent weather we should be able to cover most of it."

Result: Test - Day 1

Pos Driver Team Time Laps
1 Max Verstappen (33) Red Bull 1:29.379 62
2 Mick Schumacher (29) Ferrari 1:29.976 56
3 Lando Norris (4) McLaren 1:30.800 22
4 Romain Grosjean (8) Haas 1:30.982 42
5 Alexander Albon (23) Toro Rosso 1:31.089 71
6 Lewis Hamilton (44) Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport 1:31.156 77
7 Daniel Ricciardo (3) Renault 1:31.584 45
8 Lance Stroll (18) Racing Point 1:31.964 33
9 Carlos Sainz (55) McLaren 1:32.059 32
10 Antonio Giovinazzi (99) Alfa Romeo 1:32.067 53
11 Fernando Alonso (14) McLaren 1:32.207 64
12 Pietro Fittipaldi (51) Haas 1:32.708 20
13 Robert Kubica (88) Williams 1:33.290 19
14 Daniil Kvyat (26) Toro Rosso 1:33.653 45
15 George Russell (63) Williams 1:33.682 27