• Nikita Concludes Final In-Season Test in Barcelona

Nikita Mazepin clocks 128 laps on his first day driving the F1 W10
20-year-old Russian racer Nikita Mazepin completed his first day of testing at the wheel of the Mercedes-AMG F1 W10 EQ Power+, logging 128 laps in Barcelona.

- The team continued with aero data collection and power unit work on Wednesday, completing a long run programme in the morning before moving to single lap runs in the afternoon to allow Nikita to gain experience on the three softest tyre compounds

- Mercedes-Benz Power Units completed a total of 1,946 km today

Nikita Mazepin

"Today was incredible. Being a part of this team, even just for this day was very special for me. It’s every young driver’s dream to drive a car like this and today mine came true, so I’m really happy. Importantly it was a successful day on track too, we gathered most of the data we set out to collect, we didn’t encounter any problems and from my side I felt I could deliver consistently throughout the day – which is important for the team. In the afternoon we were competitive on the performance runs and the car felt great. Everyone in the team is working so hard and you can feel that when you sit in this car."

Ron Meadows, Sporting Director

"It’s been another successful day here in Barcelona and we managed to complete all of the programme we had planned. We spent the first three quarters of the day focused on aerodynamic and Power Unit development testing, before switching to one-lap performance runs, working through the different specifications of the tyre with Nikita. He did a really superb job today, just as we expected he would."

Result: Test - Day 2

Pos Driver Team Time Laps
1 Nikita Mazepin (21) Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport 1:15.775 128
2 Alex Albon (23) Toro Rosso 1:17.079 110
3 Antonio Fuoco (32) Ferrari 1:17.284 120
4 Charles Leclerc (16) Ferrari (Pirelli) 1:17.349 127
5 Kimi Räikkönen (7) Alfa Romeo 1:17.393 110
6 Jack Aitken (45) Renault 1:17.621 75
7 Kevin Magnussen (20) Haas 1:18.101 106
8 Nick Yelloly (34) Racing Point 1:18.212 83
9 Nicholas Latifi (40) Williams 1:18.573 88
10 Dan Ticktum (24) Red Bull 1:19.458 79
11 Oliver Turvey (48) McLaren 1:20.712 52
12 Lance Stroll (18) Racing Point (Pirelli) 1:20.745 119
13 Sergio Sette Camara (47) McLaren 1:21.565 19