• Formula 1 Announces Opening 8 Races of Revised 2020 Calendar

F1 has revealed when racing will return, after confirming an initial eight races from the 2020 season…

Following the postponement of the 2020 Formula 1 season due to the global COVID-19 pandemic, F1 has announced the opening set of races from this year’s revised schedule.

The calendar, which has been approved by the FIA, features eight confirmed races at six different locations and will begin with a race in Austria at the Red Bull Ring from the 3-5 July.

F1 has been working closely with partners, authorities, the FIA and the ten teams over the past two months to create a revised calendar, that allows racing to return in a way that is safe for both the communities the sport visits and the Formula 1 community itself.

Work on the wider calendar is being finalised with the hope of publishing it in the coming weeks, with an expected 15-18 races and running through to December. The opening races are expected to be closed events without fans.

The season will begin with a triple-header featuring two races in Austria and a race in Hungary. After a week off, there will then be another triple-header with two races in Great Britain and one in Spain. Following a one-week break, F1 will then head to back-to-back races in Belgium and Italy.