Skip to content


Lewis Hamilton
1:16.676 Fastest Lap
66 Laps
George Russell
1:17.875 Fastest Lap
66 Laps
Lewis Hamilton
1:12.818 Fastest Lap
23 Laps
George Russell
1:13.447 Fastest Lap
18 Laps

The Circuit

The Spanish Grand Prix is one of the oldest races on the calendar. It celebrated its centenary in 2013 having appeared on the Formula One World Championship schedule since 1968 at a variety of venues. 

Between 1968 and 1975, Jarama and Montjuic shared the event until tragic events at the latter venue saw the race move permanently to the former from 1976 onwards. The race was dropped altogether from 1981, until the Mayor of Jerez commissioned a new racing circuit to promote tourism in the town. The track was finished in time for the 1986 World Championship and hosted the race until 1990.

Built as part of the development programme for the 1992 Olympic Games, the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya was completed for the 1991 Spanish Grand Prix. It has featured as both a race venue and popular test track.

Lewis Hamilton’s six wins at the track is tied with Michael Schumacher for the most Spanish Grand Prix victories.

It’s not the only Barcelona-related F1 record for the seven-time World Champion. Lewis’ five wins in a row between 2017 and 2021 is also an F1 record for most consecutive victories at an event. Ayrton Senna won the Monaco Grand Prix every year between 1989 and 1993.

  • First GP
  • Circuit Length
  • Race Distance
  • Laps