Skip to content


Lewis Hamilton
1:17.809 Fastest Lap
66 Laps
George Russell
1:18.290 Fastest Lap
66 Laps
Lewis Hamilton
1:11.701 Fastest Lap
18 Laps
George Russell
1:11.703 Fastest Lap
16 Laps

The Circuit

The Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya is one of the most recognisable tracks on the calendar. Not only has it been host to Formula 1 since 1991, but it has also been home to plenty of pre-season testing over the years. It’s a circuit most teams and drivers know well, and is also a regular addition on other motorsport calendars such as MotoGP and Touring Car Championships.

It’s had a few changes and tweaks in recent years, but the current circuit length is 4.655km with 14 turns. There is a good mix of high- and low-speed corners, hence why it’s so popular for testing, both for teams and our tyre supplier Pirelli. Your best chance to spot an overtake is down at Turn 1, as the drivers enter one of two DRS zones, and speed down the start-finish straight. We’ve seen Lewis make several successful passes for the lead at the first turn!

The stress on tyres is high here, and will often result in several different strategies up and down the grid. The previous two wins here have seen both a three-stop and two-stop strategy, respectively, with Mercedes achieving several victories here as a result of our excellent calls from the pit wall.

Last year, the final part of the circuit had changes which saw the removal of the chicane back to its original layout. This popular decision also made for a much more flowing last sector.

Despite being on the calendar since the early ‘90s, the Barcelona-Catalunya circuit is set to be replaced by Madrid as the home of the Spanish Grand Prix from 2026. The deal, which was announced at the start of this year, will see Formula 1 race around the FEMA exhibition centre in the country’s capital until at least 2035.

Lewis Hamilton’s six wins at the track is tied with Michael Schumacher for the most Spanish Grand Prix victories.

It’s not the only Barcelona-related F1 record for the seven-time World Champion. Lewis’ five wins in a row between 2017 and 2021 is also an F1 record for most consecutive victories at an event. Ayrton Senna won the Monaco Grand Prix every year between 1989 and 1993.

  • First GP
  • Circuit Length
  • Race Distance
  • Laps

Everything You Need To Know: Spain

After a brief trip to Canada, Formula 1 continues its European leg of the 2024 calendar with Round 10 in Spain. The Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya is well known among teams and drivers as a popular testing venue, as well as being home to the Spanish Grand Prix.

The 4.655km circuit has been a great source of joy for us over the past decade, as we have lifted the winner’s trophy an impressive seven times. Lewis Hamilton has been responsible for six of those victories, with five being on consecutive occasions to the circuit. We’ve also received some Spanish silverware thanks to Nico Rosberg who won here in 2015, as well as plenty of podiums from Valtteri Bottas and George Russell.

Fresh from our pole position in Montreal, and great third and fourth place finishes for George and Lewis, we’re keen to keep the momentum going into the upcoming triple-header.

As well as Formula 1 being back on our screens this week, there’s also the return of FIA Formula 2 and 3, as well as F1 Academy to our schedule. We’ll be sure to support both our juniors on track, with Kimi Antonelli in F2 and Doriane Pin in F1 Academy!

Our Successes

Barcelona is a circuit that has seen lots of brilliant highlights for the team. We’ve stood on the top step of the podium here on seven occasions over the past decade, with Lewis managing five consecutive wins from 2017 until 2021. As well as our victories as a constructor, we’ve also helped power 31 podiums and 12 wins as an engine supplier – the most out of all our competition.

Back in 2014, Lewis put on an excellent display to achieve our first win in Spain, and put himself at the top of the Drivers’ standings for the first time since joining the Silver Arrows. It was his first of six victories at the circuit, and crossed the chequered flag with team-mate Nico just moments behind him in second.

The year after, it was Nico’s turn to taste the winning champagne, as he started from pole and dominated the race. Lewis finished in second, resulting in another back-to-back one-two result for the team around the circuit.

We were back to our winning ways in 2017, when Lewis emerged on top in a thrilling race around the Barcelona circuit. A strategy masterclass from the team allowed Lewis to hunt down the leader, Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel, and pull off an outrageous overtake on the entry to Turn 1 two thirds into the race distance. Met with a huge round of applause from the garage, Lewis was able to bring it home for his 55th career victory.

A further one-two followed in 2018 thanks to Lewis and Valtteri Bottas, with an identical result in 2019 too. The seven-time champ also won again in the Covid-19 pandemic-affected 2020 season, leading every lap from pole. Mercedes have recorded nine pole positions at this track over the years, and 13 as an engine supplier.

Lewis took his and the team’s most recent victory in Spain during the final few laps in 2021. After opting for a two-stop strategy, different to our rivals up ahead, Lewis was able to attack on fresher tyres and pull off an ambitious overtake for first with six laps to go! Going around the outside of Turn 1, the nail-biting move resulted in Lewis' fifth Spanish Grand Prix win in succession.

Formula 1’s most recent pole position holder, our very own George, has also had success in Spain. He’s totalled up two podiums here in Barcelona, the first being a third place in 2022, during his debut year with the team, and the other another third place last season.