Skip to content


Lewis Hamilton
1:15.396 Fastest Lap
70 Laps
George Russell
1:17.097 Fastest Lap
53 Laps
Lewis Hamilton
1:27.627 Fastest Lap
26 Laps
George Russell
1:27.893 Fastest Lap
25 Laps

The Circuit

During the 1960s the country's Grand Prix had two homes: alternating between Mosport Park and Mont-Tremblant. By 1970 Mont-Tremblant was deemed too dangerous, and the race was moved full time to Mosport Park.

In 1977 the French Canadians, motivated by the success of local hero Gilles Villeneuve, decided to create a racetrack. Building a new circuit simply wasn't feasible, owing to both time and financial constraints. Their solution was simple and effective. Taking the Île Notre-Dame, they connected all of the island's roads and made a course.

After $2m was spent upgrading the circuit to Formula One standards, the first race was held in October 1978. Gilles Villeneuve, who was yet to win a Formula One race, took a memorable victory at his home Grand Prix. Following his tragic death in 1982, the track was renamed the Circuit Gilles-Villeneuve in his honour.

Lewis Hamilton’s seven wins at the circuit is a joint F1 record held with Michael Schumacher.

In 2017, Lewis equalled Ayrton Senna’s F1 pole tally of 65, and received one of his hero’s race-worn helmets in the post-session ceremony.

  • First GP
  • Circuit Length
  • Race Distance
  • Laps